G’morning

Hello, good morning!

I didn’t realize I hadn’t written for so long. I have definately got baby brain at the moment.

I am feeling pretty good lately, no longer feeling nauseous all day, though I have started getting heartburn at night or when I eat certain things. I think this is probably due to my crappy diet. I eat ‘normal’ (if that’s what you can call it)

I’ve been having cereal for breakfast, a few rolls for lunch, and then whatever for dinner. Last night I was too tired so made tuna mayo rolls.

I’ve mentioned to James that we really need to start eating right again and he agrees. Tonight I may make a chilli, we have some mince etc. But I can already sense that I will put kidney beans in it and have rice too. Is that really so bad?

Thursday is our shopping day and we normally shop at Tesco. Lately, I have had it up to ‘here’ (hand above head) with them, every time we go there and purchase something on offer, they don’t give us the offer and I have to go and get a refund.

So I am no longer shopping there because I hate them.

Yup I am probably over reacting lol, but they piss me off so much! I have written them a stinking complaint letter asking for a generous goodwill gesture and an apology – we’ll see what I get back from them.

So, we went to Asda last week and it was ok. We weren’t big fans of that store before, but it seemed fine.

My weight is still rising – which I guess is to be expected in pregnancy. But I really do not want to gain extra  weight or unneccessary weight.

I must try harder. I know that.

Last night on telly, they had a program on Channel 4 about diabetes and diets. A group of women went to this ‘clinic’ and had to do a 55 day diet to try to reverse their type 2 diabetes. Half the group were on a 1600 kcal diet, made up of 40 % carbs, 30 % protein and 30 % fat. I couldn’t believe the high carb percentage and was shouting at the tv and shaking my  head! The other half were put on a liquid diet of shakes n soups.

After 2 months ( I think they spent maybe a week in the clinic together) they all came back and two of them had reversed their diabetes and all had lost at least 1 stone. Its pretty impressive (even with the bad advice lol) and just shows how important diet is to your health.

They said diabetes is going to be the biggest thing in the next decade and will be the cost of half of our NHS budget here in the UK.

So, I need someone to kick me up the butt and get me back in gear to eating well.

I am now 19 weeks and 2 days pregnant, and am waiting for my letter from the hospital about my 20 week scan. Hmmm – it’s getting a little close. I have rung them twice to chase it up in the last two weeks – they said they are having technical difficulties. It’s very frustrating as I want to have my scan to check everythings still going ok and I cannot wait to find out the gender!!

Plus – I need some notice so I can book the time off from work, and James needs to book it off too.

I will call them again today.

Anyway, that’s my moans for now! Have a great day and give me some advice to start eating healthy again!!

  1. August 1, 2013 at 3:43 pm

    I’d say come off the cereal and rolls 😦
    Weight gain in pregnancy should be 2-2.5 stone. Anymore than that and it ain’t baby gain!
    You can adapt Dukan/Paleo in pregnancy and only grow baby and not you. You need carbs, but get them from HEALTHY sources, sweet potatoes, veggies, fruits (limit these) and avoid bread, pasta, potatoes and rice. Women with weight trouble typically have insulin resistance, which you want to avoid in pregnancy as they’ll diagnose you with gestational diabetes and then you’ll be high risk. Avoid it with a good diet xoxo

    • August 2, 2013 at 9:20 am

      Thanks Sandi, I guess I do know what I have to do – it takes time to get my head round it and make myself change back to a healthy lifestyle. I don’t want to get diabetes for sure! that would worry me. thanks for the advice. 🙂

  2. August 2, 2013 at 12:05 am

    Yay for good info from the bomb midwyfe 😉
    Good to see a post from you Shann….keep healthy and your baby will be too.
    *anna

    • August 2, 2013 at 9:21 am

      I know, its great having an expert on here!! 🙂 thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

