Surprise!

Good morning! How are you all?

So, I did say last week I would explain what has been going on in my life and why I haven’t blogged very often.

Well, I have some exciting news. I am expecting a baby!!

There you go! Now you understand.

I’ve felt so sick for over 2 months and have not been able to eat anything healthy – and I know I should have forced myself as it’s a crucial time- but ugh. The thought of eating a vegetable or an egg made me want to be sick!

So, I survived on rice krispies, bananas, sweets, bagels, Β potatoes and peasΒ (eventually a few weeks ago). I craved fast food for a couple of weeks, but only caved a couple of times.

My weight: I have put on 3-4 lbs, which isn’t loads, but I do not want to gain masses of weight. I joined a low carb group online, but am struggling to eat non carb foods. I’ve been enjoying a little fruit, some blueberries, peaches etc but have barely had any vegetables or salad.

I am starting to feel a whole lot better now, and had my first scan yesterday so am feeling over the moon that everything is ok!!!

Oh and yes, the wedding is going to be cancelled.Β  The baby is due 24th December. The wedding was booked for the 7th December, so don’t really want to be getting married when I am that heavily pregnant!

Hopefully we can do it next December instead. We won’t have much money but it will just have to be a simple affair.

So there you are. Finally I can tell you all!! It’s been hard to not just blurt it out!!

If you have any advice, tips or anything you want to tell me, please feel free!!

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  1. Sharifa
    June 11, 2013 at 11:58 am

    Yay!!!!!!!!! Congrats to u both! Focus on feeding baby and forget about a particular diet. You will be happier for it and baby will be healthier. Just make a vow ti walk regularly and drink plenty of water!!! I am so happy for u!!!! Hugs!

    • June 11, 2013 at 1:30 pm

      thanks!! I am not dieting anymore, but if I lose a bit from eating better I wont mind. I do need to walk more and have been drinking around 2 litres a day. πŸ™‚

  2. June 11, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    Congrats Shannon! Sooooo happy for you πŸ™‚ Hoping everything goes well for a safe and healthy pregnancy. You already have so many good healthy habits with diet and exercise that it seems it will be easy to carry those over into eating for two! A Christmas eve baby, so exciting!!

    • June 11, 2013 at 1:31 pm

      Thank you! all my habits flew out the window once I started feeling sick – all i wanted was fizzy sweets haha!! but I am going to try harder to eat better πŸ™‚

  3. Laura
    June 11, 2013 at 3:21 pm

    Awesome!!!!

    • June 11, 2013 at 4:48 pm

      Thanks! πŸ™‚

  4. June 11, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    Oh many congratulations!!!! Wonderful news. I advise my ladies to eat high protein, moderate (complex) carbs to prevent gestational diabetes and blood pressure issues… Once you’re feeling better you’ll have it down pat since you’re used to eating like that!!!

    • June 11, 2013 at 4:48 pm

      Thanks Sandi! I need more protein, I’ve not been able to stomach much of it lately. Really excited though! πŸ™‚

      • June 11, 2013 at 4:52 pm

        Yeah, the nausea at the beginning of pregnancy can thwart that. Just a reminder, protein and healthy fats are the building blocks for the developing brain… Even a spoonful of peanut butter is helpful. I’d sneak boiled eggs in my diet when I had horrible morning sickness with Nick’s pregnancy.
        The good news is that nausea signifies good progesterone levels which is usually a sign of a healthy pregnancy πŸ˜€

  5. June 12, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    OMG OMG OMG ❀
    That is amazing news sweetheart!!! ❀

    • June 13, 2013 at 8:57 am

      Thanks!I know it’s crazy! πŸ™‚

  6. June 14, 2013 at 8:40 pm

    SUPER excited for you Shannon πŸ™‚ I love that you are able to have a virtual midwyfe too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    *anna

    • June 17, 2013 at 12:54 pm

      Thanks Anna, yes I will bombard Sandi with all my questions lol! excited! πŸ™‚

      • June 21, 2013 at 1:07 pm

        yay!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

