Home > Diets, dukan diet, low carb, Weight loss > ah oui j’aime paris!

ah oui j’aime paris!

Good morning!

So I have returned from Pareee. It was amazing. I will post some pictures this week when I remember my camera.

I failed miserably on the food front. I just couldn’t choose anything low or carb free. I don’t know why, don’t I want to be low carb? Even yesterday I had loads of toast for dinner.  And I had a burger for lunch with chips. Even though there was a ‘naked burger’ option with no bun.

Hmmm, what is wrong with me? I want to do this lifestyle, yet I can’t stick to it.

I felt like every available meal was just all carbs. Everywhere you look there’s sandwiches and wraps and baguettes. Pasta pizza and pastries. This is a hard world to be living low carb.

On a good front, I did buy some flaxseed yesterday and this morning made some bread with it (the same way I used to with the oat bran) so will try that in a bit when I take my morning break.

Your blogs all help me at least want to stay on the straight and low carb narrow and I’m so glad I have them to remind me why I want to do this.

My weight is erm, bad. Very bad. I didn’t even eat that much and have put on a few lbs. Every day is a new day though, which is good. Start again.

I have also gone a bit mad with internet shopping the last few weeks and I know I cannot afford it, so that must stop too.

Anyway, I had a lovely time in Paris. I loved it and want to move there haha. I found it to be a wonderful city, but it was such a maze. We got lost for ages on the way back to the hotel on the first night.

Poor James woke up on our first day with the flu and suffered the two full days we were there, but he is a lot worse now and has had to call in sick to work.

Poor thing. I really hope I don’t catch it as a) will be in trouble if I have any time off work, b) he looks really sick,c) It’s elfmas (watching elf and drinking wine) on Friday and my works christmas do on the Saturday.

We didn’t drink much while we were away, mostly as James felt so poorly.

So it’s a definite wheat gain.

Ah well, I must do better. I need something in my head as to why I can never eat it again, but I haven’t found anything yet that will persuade me enough.

I hope you all had a good weekend!

  1. December 11, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    It’s an addiction, seriously, and at some point you’ll control it instead of it controlling you. Make sure you get in some type of exercise each day and lots of water and back on the clean eating xoxo

    • December 11, 2012 at 1:20 pm

      I’m on the water, havent drunk enough the last few days. I can feel the effects though, itchy skin and twitchy face already after only a couple of days of eating wheat.

  2. December 11, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    The effects of wheat, especially after you’ve been free of it for awhile, are unbelievable! We should create a WA, Wheat Anonymous, recovering addicts group!

  3. December 12, 2012 at 3:19 am

    WA…yup, that’s a good one Sandi. Hope James is on the mend Shannon and you don’t catch it!
    *anna

  4. Sonia
    December 12, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Hi Shannon, glad you had a great time on Paris! 🙂 Can’t wait for pics!
    Sandi is right about wheat being so addictive, the only way to do it is to cut it out and keep it out. I know it’s hard, you see family and friends eating it with no apparent affects and think why me? At times it feels such hard work, having to be careful and think about everything you eat but really it’s all about changing your perspective. It is a positive change for your health, although others around you can scoff down the wheat with no immediate consequences, you know that eating wheat affects you in a bad way (itchy skin, etc). You have said how much better you feel not eating it, you said how your asthma, eczema, colds had been better this year, wheat may have been a major contributor to these things in the first place?????
    It has helped me to look at the science behind it all. Why / how does gluten cause you to have these reactions? The way I understand it, they are basically autoimmune responses. Gluten affects your gut, it destroys good bacteria, ferments promoting bad bacteria, fights through your villi in the intestine and allows things into your blood stream which shouldn’t be there = leaky gut = autoimmune responses. I found a great article at http://www.theiflife.com called Health starts in the gut. What to do about leaky gut syndrome. The suggestions are not surprising to someone who has looked at the Dukan diet / low carb eating.
    Now while in the short term we may think that we can put up with itchy skin in order to eat some bread, the reactions will only get worse with time, your body is giving you all the hints that it doesn’t like gluten, if you don’t listen to your gut (pun intended LOL) then in the long run your health with suffer, ranging from sinus problems, depression, anxiety, mood swings, asthma, skin problems to MS, coeliac, reflux diseases, cancers, ulcers, bacterial overgrowth, memory problems. The list goes on!!!!!!! I’m not trying to be a prophet of doom but they are the facts and they’ve really helped me to put things in perspective, however tasty wheat may be, your long term health isn’t really something to be risked. Is it?????
    Have a good day Shannon, hope that isn’t too intense but doing the research has convinced me so I thought I’d share. And yes, it still cheeses me off, everything has flipping wheat or gluten in it!!!!!! 😉 xoxo

  5. December 12, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Thanks for your comment Sonia. I need some facts to remember why I am giving up wheat. Its hard to explain to people if you havent been ‘officially diagnosed’ and they think you are just being silly or annoying. I will have to be more stringent in looking at labels etc for hidden wheat. I find it hard work if Im out of the house, its so hard not to just get a ‘normal’ meal like everyone else. 🙂 x

    • Sonia
      December 12, 2012 at 2:26 pm

      I really empathise, it’s hard to feel like the odd one out, like you’re being a nuisance because you can’t eat ”anything”. Maybe it might help if you got some kind of diagnosis, go to the doctors and see if you can get some kind of allergy testing done. I’m sure they’d help if you explained the symptoms you get after eating wheat. As for friends and family, anyone who loves you won’t want you feeling poorly from something you eat. It’s not some fad diet we’re talking about, if you are convinced of your choice people will soon get used to it. X

  6. December 12, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    Have you tried going totally gluten free? The key seems to be NOT buying replacement breads, pastas, sweets which of course is very hard! Good luck and don’t be too hard on yourself 🙂
    -Dana

    • December 13, 2012 at 8:38 am

      Thanks Dana, Im trying to do it but am finding it hard. I don’t want the replacement products, they are too carby and full of sugar but I do still like making my own substitutes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

