bounjour!

Good morning!

I just wrote half a post and then the page skipped back and deleted it! argh!

So, I didn’t have any dinner last night either as got home after 9pm from college. I had some salami with mozzarella  and a couple of gluten free crackers with cheddar. I’ve dropped a couple of pounds since yesterday, probably due to not eating??

I have still not been to the shops for food, so no eggs aeaargghh!!!

Todays menu is: oat bran for breakfast (porridge) oat bran for lunch (porridge) (desperate times) and some cheese and sausage for later with coconut yoghurt.

So, a bit much on the oat bran front but its better than going to subway for a salad as they taste like crap.

Yesterday I googled some recipes for paleo/low carb breads etc and found some good ones that look quite easy to make. I would like to have some kind of bread around once a week.

I need to go and buy some new ingredients though, such as the flaxseed, psyllium husk and find a cheap place to buy almond flour.

I feel like Paris is going to be a write off diet wise. I just can’t see how I’m going to find food on the go that doesn’t contain wheat etc. Any suggestions? Live off cheese? lol. Oh, I really don’t want to eat wheat! (Well, I do coz its bloody delicious, but you know what I mean!)

Well, yesterday I did not have any chocolate. Not even a mocha at college.

Thanks for your messages the last few days guys. I definately agree that following dukan opened my eyes to a better way of eating and to look for answers regarding wheat etc.

I wish one of the chefs on tv was a non wheat eater and could show me loads of good recipes. It’s about time there was a low carb chef!

Does anyone ever watch Supersize vs Superskinny? It was a program where an obese person would swap their food with someone who was underweight for a week and see what they could learn from each other. The main thing was the portion sizes for the obese person and the amount of carbs. The skinny one would usually eat rubbish, like a chocolate bar for breakfast and then energy drinks etc. Both very unhealthy.

I hate it that hardly anyone who is influential has told people, especially obese people who feel like failures when diets don’t work, that they can live low carb. A year ago I would have listened but scoffed later at anyone telling me not to eat so many carbs. I would have thought, ‘yeah temporarily, but you do need carbs’ but I would have lost weight and then probably put it back on by eating bread, pasta and rice again. And lots of it. I remember the size of the mound of pasta or rice my sister and I used to eat, thinking we were being healthy.

My little sister Stanzi does slimming world and can eat loads of carbs and lose weight, I’m not sure how though. She does exercise a lot, I wonder why carbs doesn’t affect everyone in the same way?

Anyway, I don’t really have a point to all that, I just wanted to mention it.

So, have a good day, let’s try to make good choices. 🙂

P.S. Just checked the sugar content of my coconut yoghurt,woah! In future it will be natural yoghurt with dessicated coconut tipped in by me.

  1. Sonia
    December 6, 2012 at 10:30 am

    There are so many low carb recipe websites out there! It’s amazing…..
    Almond flour / ground almonds – cheapest place I have found them is Aldi. Not sure if you have one near you. I’m going to look online and see if I can buy a few things in bulk, like ground flax, psyllium, coconut oil, etc. I’ll let you know if I find any bargains. I paid £6.99 for a small jar of coconut oil from tesco, just a tad expensive!!!!
    A money saving tip I picked up, coconut flour is so expensive but I watched a YouTube video and all it is, is dessicated coconut ground to fine powder in blender or coffee grinder.
    I think people get too caught up on carbs, there are carbs in everything, even veg! Hope you have a great day and a wonderful trip away, take some pretty pics of Paris for us! I can pretend I’ve been then! Lol. xoxo

    • December 6, 2012 at 4:45 pm

      There is an Aldi here, I shop in there a lot since prices have gone up and tesco wind me up lol! I will have a look next time as I have not noticed almond flour before. Thanks, I cant wait for Paris!!x

      • Sonia
        December 6, 2012 at 7:55 pm

        In our Aldi it is by the eggs and baking stuff – nuts / baking powders, etc. I think the ground almonds are about £1.20? for 180g, although they used to be 99p for 200g!!!!! They’re all on the make……..TUT TUT for supermarkets. LOL x.

  2. December 6, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    You can totally stay wheat free in Paris 🙂 Hard, but doable!
    I agree hat people get caught up in the carb thing, BUT, it’s the type of carb you eat that makes the difference. Also, the amount. Not sure what slimming world is, but most of those diet programs (like hCG) etc, don’t teach you HOW to eat. That is what I loved about Dukan! And now I find the Paleo diet is the perfect compliment to the Consolidation phase. It’s all about wise choices and the occasional celebration 🙂
    xoxoxo to both of you 🙂

    • December 6, 2012 at 4:46 pm

      Hmm, I think it is going to be very hard, especially with all those cakes. I will try though, to make the best choice I can each time we are going to eat! x

  3. December 7, 2012 at 10:03 am

    I did one month in Italy with nearly zero wheat so you can do Paris! When I as in Paris I looked a lot and only had one cake (that was years ago).

    About your younger sister… when you are younger you can usually still get away with eating more carbs. I used to lose weight easily over and over while still eating carbs. Not now!! It is all about insulin resistance and leptin resistance.

    Have a great trip!!

  4. December 13, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    Would be interested in whatever Paleo breads you make…. I will be curious to know how they taste! Carbs are so good (my favorite comfort food is thick white toast.. very carby) but not good for us when they are refined.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

