link link

Hello,

Nothing interesting to blog today…haha will that keep you reading?

My weight was exactly the same as yesterday. TOTM and home made mince pies got in the ‘weigh’ to a more dramatic loss, but compared to last weeks stats, not bad. So it’s still 68.0,10.10 & 150.0

Sandi and Anna both said yesterday in a comment to me that they try not to replace all the stuff they used to eat before ie cakes, bread, muffins,  with other dukan or other bread cakes and muffins unless it’s a special occasion.

I know they are right. I’m trying to remember how often I would eat cakes etc before dukan? I used to have bread almost everyday and muffins if someone brought them into the office. Bagels was a favourite breakfast (damn I miss bagels – how did you resist Constance?)

I guess when we give something up we are looking immediately for a substitute. I tried some gluten free bread – yuck! I realised that you don’t want to give up heroin and then be addicted to methadone.

So what I will try to do is keep the sweet stuff for special occasions and with so many siblings  (7) and nephew/nieces (7) there will be ample birthday cake eating. Obvs I will make my own cake so I don’t eat the wheat one. (see I’m already cheating!!)

But can I say goodbye to bread? That’s the tough one. Not yet anyway.

So, what do people who have finished dukan and are living more paleo/low carb think about oat bran? It is too high carb? Just interested.

I also went on a blog binge this morning, starting with Lynda who mentioned Gary Taubes so I had a look at his website and that got me reading about Rabbit Starvation, which I’d never heard of. Could you really die from that? Is lean meat bad then?  Is too much meat bad for you? I don’t think I understand it all that well.

I do have some fats in my diet, I don’t always buy low fat sausage and use butter sometimes etc. I much prefer full fat varieties of dairy and don’t think it’s bad for you, but did notice that my weight would stabilize when I had full fat and only lost weight with low fat products.

Or maybe I was just eating too much dairy altogether for dukan. Hmmm I’ll have to double check what the limit is….

Anyway, these are my musings today, hope you all don’t mind the linkage to your blogs… have a good one!!!

 

 

  1. November 27, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    Hi Shannon, Speaking strictly for myself, I find that just appreciating the foods I can eat is sufficient. If I were to focus on the things I choose to no longer eat [because my goal is health & longevity, not merely weight loss] than I would feel deprived rather often. I grew up not far from NYC and bagels were a staple!! Yes, I miss having them, but are they worth the health risk. I made up my mind to put certain items like that into my psyche along with cigarettes. I never smoked, and I would not choose to, because of the obvious health risks. With that view of certain foods, it becomes easier to accept their absence. There are SO many wonderful things that ARE available, try focusing on them perhaps….make a list of on program foods you have never tried…and make one a week til your recipe repertoire expands sufficiently with new ideas.
    As far as Taubes, he’s got it right. Some of his stuff takes a few good thinks [at least for me] to absorb, but his book “Why We Get Fat” should be in every school in my opinion 😉
    Cheerio!
    *anna

  2. November 27, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    Thanks Anna. I may just buy the book and give it a read. I suppose I need to decide what I think is healthy and try to stick to those foods. 🙂

  3. November 28, 2012 at 9:05 am

    Oh I loved that analogy “I realised that you don’t want to give up heroin and then be addicted to methadone.” That is just so true!! I think many people start low carbing with replacing all the things they love but that is just wrong. Keep them for treats sure – I think that is what I’ve done – but you just need to learn that some foods are no longer everyday foods.

    I too was interested in that rabbit starvation comment. I don’t have a high protein diet, rather higher fat, moderate protein. Interesting, every day you read something that makes you think. At the end of the day, you just need to do what feels right for you 🙂

  4. November 28, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    I’m also a little worried about getting gallstones, a colleague has them so I looked into it and as far as I can tell its from eating too little fat in the first place. So, long term, I dont want to do dukan as I want to have more fat in my diet.

    In general people shouldn’t eat treats everyday so I need to remind myself that its the same with ‘sugar free treats’. They should be a ‘treat’ and not an everyday occurance.

  5. December 2, 2012 at 1:26 am

    I don’t miss bread, at all 🙂 I do occasionally lust for an everything bagels with salmon and cream cheese, but I digress 🙂
    I stopped using oat bran back in March (a couple months before I was done with the Cruise phase) and use flaxseed meal instead. Same fiber, zero net carbs, gluten free and a nutty taste.
    Sending lots of hugs xxxxxx

    • December 3, 2012 at 10:41 am

      I looked online at where you can buy it here in the UK, its called linseed here as far as I can tell. Will buy some! So, can it be used in the same way as oat bran then? Porridge, bread etc? thanks x

      • December 4, 2012 at 9:04 pm

        Yes, you use it just like the oat bran, but I like it better!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

