Home > Diets, dukan diet, Weight loss > Fri – Day 110

Fri – Day 110

110 days! Insane! I should be skinny by now!

haha. Well my weight has fluctuated UP a few hundred grams but let’s not dwell on that.

‘Blur’ are playing at The Winter Gardens in Margate, a town 10 mins away, and I tried for hours to get tickets. I spent 9.00 – 9.24 pressing release, redial on two phones which I counted was approximately 40 calls a minute. I gave up a bit after that and only did it a few times when I had the chance. Finally rang through at 11.15 and SOLD OUT!  How annoying.

I was reading a bit about aspartame yesterday, I already knew it was bad but just hadn’t got round to stop using/drinking/eating it. Now that I’m trying to avoid it, it’s in bloody everything!

I’d googled if it was also in Pepsi ( i could give up diet coke for an alternative!!) http://www.rense.com/general92/soda.htm and found this. I only read snippets of it, but it made me feel ill to be honest.

I went shopping last night and looked at all the diet drinks, all had aspartame. Even no added sugar squash! SO literally I can only drink water, fat drinks or alcohol! And since Im on a diet, that leaves me with water. Great.

One drink had sucralose. Is this the same? Will have to check it out.

I looked at wheatbellys website again and this reminded me I need to cut out all wheat. Its sooo hard! I barely eat any, maybe just the wheat bran I put in my bread and finding it hard to get a replacement product.

My right side cheek has been twitching/pulsating/pumping along nicely for the last few days and I’m wondering if it’s the aspartame? I put it in my muffins,dri(a)nk diet coke etc. Now I’ve cut it out, (day 1 – sob) I’ll see if it makes a difference.

I was happy to see Stevia was half price at Tesco, so bought what was left on the shelf, 2 jars. I will throw away my aspartame sweetener, as much as I hate waste. I thought about seeing if anyone wanted it, but then thought that would be like giving someone a jar of poison! Silly me!

Had a run last night for 32 minutes. Did the C25K week two, but instead of 1.5 run and 2 mins walk I did a few 2 min runs and even one 3 minute one!! Ha ha loser I could have done more but I enjoyed not killing myself.

My sister came over for a workout and had to beat me. She ran for 20 minutes non stop.  I would defo be dead!

Well not much more to report. I’ve attached two images of little boxes I made at work which I’m quite proud of. One is for the SD cards the yard staff bring in to me to do the work with, and the bigger uglier FILTHIER one is one I made ages ago. As they kept losing or stealing these cards, I gave them all 3 cards each and had a few spares for other functions. It worked well until their big fat dirty yard fingers broke all the carefully constructed partitions. 😦

I give up. But I did enjoy making the little one out of a stapler packet and some white labels hahahah!! Let’s see how long that lasts. And I’ve had a few ‘shall I just put my stick into the hole?’ cracks. Working with men has its disadvantages.

Have a great weekend – see ya Monday probably!!

big box

little box- cute or frankenstein monstrosity?

  1. May 18, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    Wow Shannon that’s great that you’re giving up aspartame. I think you’ll be happy with stevia. We’re growing some in the garden this year 🙂 I know you like to bake and in my experience with stevia ( i don’t know the science-y why) stevia seems to not sweeten cocoa powder. So for you chocolate muffins I would recommend Truvia. It’s stevia with erythriyol (sp?) and it works great. In our stores here we have a ‘soda’ that is called zevia, flavors like rootbeer, lemon lime and cola….but sweetened with stevia. They are a great alternative for those special treat times a few times each year when our daughter wants ‘soda pop’
    Have a great weekend.
    *anna

    • May 18, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      thanks anna. i just ate the last of my last batch of muffins n then remembered they have aspartame duh!! I’ll have a look out for truvia too.

  2. May 18, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    I’m a Splenda girl… I can’t get Stevia here in China, so I stick with it… When I move home to the Staes I’d like to get away from the artificial sweetness entirely… At least I’m not drinking diet coke anymore 🙂 Good for you to try and quit using aspartame!
    Love the boxes 😉

  3. May 18, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    Have you tried squeesing some lemon juice into a glass of water. It’s really refreshing and if it’s too sour for you just add a bit of stevia.

    • May 22, 2012 at 1:09 pm

      thanks, I used to have one every night with hot water, but not done it for ages!

  4. May 18, 2012 at 6:36 pm
    • May 22, 2012 at 12:59 pm

      thanks. damn i miss diet coke!!

  5. May 21, 2012 at 4:38 am

    VERY interesting reads from both of you. I think I’m ready to get off the stuff. After my Diet Cherry Pepsi is gone. I used to NEVER, EVER, EVER drink water. It tasted awful to me. But since we started Dukan, I’ve really started to drink and rely on water. So it’s not far fetched to go that route. It’s funny because my friend and I were discussing it earlier this week and I was going to look a little more into it. So thanks for doing my homework for me!! I emailed her both links on here.

    • May 22, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      lol your welcome!! it is hard, as it’s in EVERYTHING sugar free more or less. maybe I could make my own diet coke with stevia….lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

