Home > Diets, dukan diet > Jour 59

Jour 59

Good afternoon.

Was thinking about not doing  a blog today as nothing to report, but hey, here it is!!

Had college last night so all I had was a diet coke and some chicken pieces. After watching half of ‘Hungry for Change’ didn’t really want to have them but there you go.

http://www.hungryforchange.tv/

It’s free for viewing until 31/03/12. I found it via WWangels blog (see my blogroll) who got it from her friends blog!! It really opens your eyes to things like MSG (which I now see is in almost everything I eat!)

I’ve emailed it to all my family and hope they watch it. So far my sister Fran has watched it and is changing the way she eats now. I hope my parents watch it as my dad is diabetic and has had most of his toes amputated and both of them are on the obese side. (hope they don’t read that bit of my blog – gulp)

It is sad that because of food and not being able to control it he has been in such bad health the last few years, in hospital for months at a time and sleeping in a hospital bed at home for months. He’s on the mend now and kind of walking with a special shoe.  He has 3 toes left now, poor thing.

I think I’m starting to sound preachy when I talk about food to people, and I don’t want to sound like I’m forcing people to change the way they eat, but it is so important. I think I want to stay away from things like white bread forever, and even whole grain bread. Which is so hard as we have been programmed to want a sandwich for lunch.  All that’s available to us for lunch is expensive salads (usually drizzled with fattening dressings) or pasta or a sandwich. It’s easy fast food. Fast food.

Now you don’t normally associate sandwiches as fast food, even if they are quite healthy with salad and no dressings.

I think the only way is to make the food yourself, and eat the best you can with the money you have.  Now, I need to cut out some of the foods I have been eating on the Dukan, which included ‘crispy chicken’ (I know I know….I tried to pick the ‘crispy bit’ off but it was too delicious and ended up eating it) which contains msg and obviously flour which I’m not supposed to be eating anyway, processed chicken snacks, (sob) (actual sob, not son of a …) erm and probably all the chicken and deli ham style slices I’ve been eating.

Truely though, I can’t give up chicken/turkey/ham slices because I literally do not know what I would eat for lunch.

Now I’m new to all the msg, wheat info so excuse me if I’ve made any mistakes.

Anyway, my weight is ok today, still not back down to 11.1 which was my lowest last week but there are a few factors working against me (including scoffing crispy chicken) but hopefully towards the end of the week it will go back down.

Having a run on my treadmill tonight before studying for my exam tomorrow.

Enjoy the rest of your avo everyone!!!

  1. March 28, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    I have a sister that went over the top when she became a Christian…nobody liked her preaching. With food though, I think the best way to get the message across is to BE the example. When others see the changes, they’ll ASK how you did it!! Then the door is open to give them an earful. I love that across the globe people are really waking up to what is going on with the Agri-Business food production system. Big Ag and Big Pharma/Chem really do not have our best interests at heart. Check out local farms/farm markets in your area. Google “local food” in your area. If you haven’t read “Omnivore’s Dilemma” I recommend it. The best way to know what’s in your food is to know your farmer or grow your own…get that garden going!! I’ll join you on the wheat as well…I love it, but it don’t love me back.
    Also, don’t forget a prophet is never welcome in her hometown. So family is the most difficult to bring around….my mom and sister are both obese alas. My mom is slowly moving into a place of utter stagnation. No amount of prodding from me helps. Even simple things like walking to the end of the driveway to get the mail she won’t do anymore. It’s really sad, but ultimately we are each responsible for our own health.
    *anna

    • March 28, 2012 at 2:43 pm

      I do want to start shopping more local but it’s hard when you are already in the supermarket and they sell everything. Will make more of an effort. Thanks for the comments anna!! I will check out omnivores dilemma – am googling as we speak (or write!) 😉

    • March 28, 2012 at 5:29 pm

      Just to note, I did not mean she went over the top by BECOMING a Christian at all…just that she went to the extreme and tried to evangelize everybody/thing…every other word was amen, praise God etc. and people got really tired of being told they were on their way to hell 😦 No offense intended.
      *anna

  2. March 28, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    One way we’ve solved the issue (less convenient) is that we have a co-operative buying club that orders in bulk and a milk co-op so the drive to the farm is shared. Check in your area if people are doing co-op buying, it could be an answer, especially since you are so busy working and w/ school.
    *anna

  3. March 28, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    Watching it now. On Dukan you pretty much cut all the crap out anyway 🙂

  4. March 28, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    I hear you about the sandwich for lunch concept. I face that problem particularly when I am on this Melbourne trip… the prescribed lunch is sandwiches. I have been eating tuna from a can that is flavoured and I quite like it. I plan to go to the supermarket when we get to Melbourne and buy some canned Tuna, salmon or chicken and have that for lunch. There is no msg on those labels so hopefully they are safe. I also have boiled eggs which have been soaked in tea/soy/cinnamon as a lunch option as they are fairly transportable. But getting away from the sandwich mentality takes some effort for sure.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

