Home > Diets, dukan diet > Day 5

Day 5

Today I lost 0.2lbs

Total weight loss: 3.8 lbs!!

Hoped for a bigger weight loss this morning to be honest, but it’s still better than nothing so I’m pleased.

Breakfast: Oat bran made into porridge. It really is soooo yummy with a bit of sweetener. It’s half the size bowl of what I used to eat and really does fill me up.  The Oat bran expands to 20 times it’s size apparently!

Snack: vanilla yoghurt and some jelly!!

Didn’t bring the whole muffin tray to work obviously!! haha!

Lunch: Some chicken tikka from tesco and 4 slices of ham with onion and chives cottage cheese. I put some of the cottage cheese inside a roll of ham too which was good.

Now having a cup of tea (with a dash of semi skimmed milk – oops!)

For dinner I made meatloaf for the first time and also a lemon cheesecake.

The meatloaf was absolutely delicious, and so simple to make. I just took 500g of mince, a chopped onion , 2 beaten eggs, 4 tbsp fromage frais, sea salt and black pepper to season. I mixed in all the ingredients and put into a glass dish as I don’t have a loaf tin. I just sprayed it with some fry light and lightly dusted the bottom with a sprinkling of oat bran. I then cooked in a preheated oven for and hour. I drained away the excess fat that came off the mince about half way through.

(Like a bat out of hell!!)

The cheesecake was a little trickier….. for starters I don’t have a blender or even a whisk so you can imagine how long it took to whisk the egg whites until they were stiff!!! AArgghh. About 50 minutes with a fork. My boyfriend was not impressed as I made him take over for 20 minutes haha!!

So, here’s how I made the cheesecake:

2 eggs – separated
4 heaped tbsp fromage frais
200 grams low-fat ricotta or cottage cheese
300 gms fat-free spreadable cream cheese (I only had 200g, it still worked)
2 tbsp cornflour
½ cup splenda
Finely grated zest of 1 lemon

Preheat oven to 160 C,

Combine all ingredients except egg whites in a large mixing bowl and beat with an electric hand blender until smooth, thick and silky in appearance. If using cottage cheese, beat mixture until the texture smooths out. In a separate bowl, beat egg whites until stiff, then beat in cornflour. Slowly fold in egg white mixture to large bowl until combined. Transfer mixture to a ceramic baking dish and bake for approximately 40 mins or until risen and golden brown. Allow to cool completely in fridge before serving.

Ok, so I used cottage cheese and didn’t have a blender so couldn’t get all the lumps out…hmmm. I also didn’t get the egg whites as stiff as I wanted because my arm was bloody killing me!

But anyway, it turned out well when I tasted it the next day. It was slightly sharp, perhaps I didn’t put enough sweetener in, as I was unsure how much a ‘cup’ actually was. But eating it with some splenda on top made it perfect!

To buy: whisk and blender…..lol.

I got this recipe from: www.frenchforfoodies.com It’s a great blog about food, but also has a section about the dukan diet with a few recipes. Very entertaining too.

  1. February 4, 2012 at 1:55 am

    Quality articles is the important to attract the users to pay a quick visit the website, that’s what this web page is providing.

  2. February 24, 2012 at 3:23 am

    Ahh felling hungry after reading your post thanks lol

  1. February 8, 2012 at 8:02 am
    URL

Leave a Reply

